June News Letter – Coming Soon, Sun, Avians, FIT and Misc

Hi everyone πŸ™‚

I’m a day late with June, but since May completely passed me by I’m going to call it an improvement!

I have lots of bits of news on different things so I’ll jump right in.Β 


Seeking Something (which was originally going to be called Fourteen Nights) is finished. It’s been submitted to and accepted by Resplendence Publishing. It’s due to come out on 5th August 2015.

It’s a MM Novella. It’s the sixth and final installment in the Sun, Sea and Submission Series, but I think it also works as a stand alone. (Actually, all the books in the series can stand alone, except possibly Masochist’s Choice which makes more sense if you’ve already read Vanilla Licks.)


The first two books in the FIT Guys series – Worth Waiting For and Worth a Shot – are going in to print.

To celebrate I’ve had new e-covers made to match the print cover. The free short stories will also have new covers. They’re all off at formatting at the moment and will be revealed during the month.

I’m also putting them all up on B&N/Nook and iTunes.


Kinky Cupid books.

Once a Brat is on sale at just $0.99 until the 6th June via the Riptide website as part of their celebrations for (US) National Pride Month. Pretty Pic below will take you to a complete list of books on sale.

BlowoutSale_Week1_Newsletter

Base Over Apex isn’t on sale at a discount, but distribution has expanded to include B&N/Nook and iTunes.


Axel’s Pup print edition will be heading for extended distribution at the end of this month, so if you’re intending to buy it from Amazon.com you might want to get it sooner rather than later, since extended distribution means a price increase there.


And that brings me to what I’m working on now.

I’ve started the re-editing/polishing of Duck! ready for it to go back on sale.

I’m still hoping that a follow up novella will prove possible, but I’m probably not going to keep Duck! back until that’s done. I’ll release it as soon as it has jumped through the required hoops.


That’s the end of the writing related news. There are a few other bits and pieces below, but if you’re here just for the books (which I would be, lol) you can stop reading without feeling as if you’re missing anything πŸ™‚


Money and sales.

It’s not something I talk about often. It’s not something other writers talk about much either, as far as I’ve seen. But, if your writing is your only source of income it is something that needs to be thought about and factored into equations.

Axel’s Pup took me a long time to write. I had pretty much made my peace with the fact that it was a self indulgence that had never been financially viable.

However, readers have made Axel’s Pup by far my fastest selling title to date. It’s already out sold all but a few of my existing title.

Combined with the fact it’s self published, the sales so far mean that it’s actually made the financial grade.

While writing Axel’s Pup I made the minimum wage!

After spending a year writing Axel’s Pup, I was too knackered to do much promotional work for it. Word of mouth came to my rescue big time. So, huge hugs to everyone who bought, read, reviewed, recommended, mentioned, tweeted/re-tweeted liked or did anything else related to the book.

You guys made the series financially viable!

(Just to clarify, I’d have continued the series even if it hadn’t been viable in terms of income. I love it too much not to. But now I don’t have to feel guilty about doing it!)


A last note, and something else I haven’t really spoken about before.

If you’ve read here before, you probably know I have a physical health problem – ME/cfs. I haven’t really mentioned before that having it for so long (over 18 years) has had an effect on my mental health.

For quite a while I had some trouble with anxiety. I was in a loop where mental health was making physical health worse, which was making mental health worse, and around and around again.

I don’t know how long it will last, but I seem to have turned a bit of a corner. Two things helped make this happen.

One I’ve mentioned briefly before – medication. Pain killers are very good things. Especially pain killers which double up as anxiety reduction meds! (Standard disclaimer – all things in moderation – please take them responsibly and only if they are properly prescribed.)

The other thing that helped is more fun to talk about.

I’ve always crafted but some of my physical symptoms have meant I can no longer do the crafts that were once my favourites. Now, I’ve found a new craft. I can do it without making my physical health worse, and it actually helps make my mental health better.

It’s called Sequin Art. It’s intended for children, really. Basically you stick pins through sequins and use them to make pictures. It might help to understand the appeal if you think of it as a sort of sparkly vodo. I can feel my anxiety go down as I push each pin in.

I started doing it in February this year after sending Axel’s Pup off. Today I’ll finish my 32nd kit (a rainbow coloured dragon as it happens, lol.). I don’t think addictive is too strong a word in this particular case, but they’re helping. I have another 51 kits bought ready to do. I sometimes post pictures of finished kits on twitter if you’re curious.

I’m not sure my purpose in telling you this – maybe what I’m trying to say is even when everything seems to be bad and getting worse, at the most unexpected time something can come along out of no where and make things easier. End of tunnel lights can be switched on by strange things at random moments.

Hold on. If I’m strong enough to keep going until I get to one of those moments, so are you.

*Hugs*

Kim Dare.

10 thoughts on “June News Letter – Coming Soon, Sun, Avians, FIT and Misc

  1. Congratulations on the success of Alex’s Pup. I bought both the ebook and the printed edition, and I’m so looking forward to reading the sequel. I’m also eagerly waiting for the revised version of Duck! I hope there is a printed edition available.
    I did not know about your cfs. I’m glad you found a new craft to help you relax. I’ve been looking at designs on the internet and some of them are really beautiful. I hope you enjoy it! πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Hi Susana,

      There will be a print version of Duck! available, possibly with the follow up novella included within it.

      Sequin Art is so relaxing. I never knew I was so into sparkly things until I started these!

      *Hugs*

      Kim.

      Like

  2. I’m so happy you found something that helps to take your mind off of everything and enjoy yourself. You bring so much pleasure to your readers! I loved Once a Brat and look forward to reading it again:-D

    Like

    • Hi Kris!

      It’s crazy how much it helps! I’d never have believed it until it happened πŸ™‚

      Thank you – I really liked your review of Once a Brat! Hoping to add to the Kinky Cupid series next February.

      *Hugs*

      Kim.

      Like

  3. Hi Kim! I I’m a fairly new reader of yours (which translates to lots of story goodness waiting to be read, so yay for me), so I was unaware of your extended health issues. I’m so glad you’ve found some relief! Such great news, that. Also that Axel’s Pup has been such a success for you. It’s so worth all the great praise (and sales) that have come your way, and I hope it continues! I picked up Once a Brat today thanks to your mention, so thank you for sharing the sale. One less of your large backlist that I have left to buy!

    Keep shining (in life and in sequin-y goodness)! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hi Carolyn πŸ™‚

      Always happy to meet someone new! I’m glad you enjoyed Axel’s Pup – I’m still completely besotted with those guys, lol.

      Hope you enjoy Once a Brat. The back list kind of exploded when I wasn’t paying attention – still not sure how that happened πŸ˜‰

      *Hugs*

      Kim.

      Like

  4. BIG HUGS!!!! Health issues are so draining!! But a huge kudos and thank you for all you write and do!!! I ADORED…I mean totally ADORED Axel’s Pup….I’ve written so few reviews…but I do have plans to write one!!! I’m thrilled the series will keep on!!!! And you take care of YOU however that plays out!! Just know you aren’t alone in struggling and that you very much ARE appreciated!!!! ❀

    Like

    • *Hugs tight*

      Thank you! I love Axel and Bayden so much. They were wonderful to write. I, glad you enjoyed it.

      Please don’t feel any pressure to write a review if they’re not your thing. “Adored it” works for me just as it is πŸ™‚

      Thank you and *blushes and hugs again* you’re lovely to say so.

      Like

Leave a Reply

