Duck! – Should you buy the new version?

Hi everyone πŸ™‚

I’ve had a few questions about what has changed in Duck! and if the people who bought the first edition should or shouldn’t get the second edition too.

Here’s my attempt to answer that πŸ™‚

The main reason I’m bringing out second editions is because I wanted to take them back from the original publisher and be able to have complete control over them. Since the last editions belong to the publisher, I had to bring out my own.

Since I was bringing them out I took the chance to tweak and re-edit the stories. For Duck! it was five years between editions. My writing has changed a bit in that time and I saw ways I could improve on my best effort from five years before. I’m doing the same with Magpie, although there are slightly fewer changes since it was only three years between editions.

There aren’t any big changes and if you’re happy with them as they were written in the first editions, you really don’t need to buy the new editions.

However, if you like to re-read the, but there were some quirks in the writing in the first edition which annoyed you, it might be worth re-buying. My best advice is to check out the Amazon sample, or the chapter I’ve posted up and see if you think it’s worth the money.

The only new info that went into Duck! was that the nest the story takes place in now has a name – the Anderson nest – after the shifter who originally founded it. And I mention that there are other nests which are breeding colonies – unlike Anderson they have both male and female shifters living in them and tend to only cater to one or two avian species.

New content will arrive with Albatross next year. There are also two short stories in the works that will be all new content – just need to find time to write them πŸ™‚

Hope that helps πŸ™‚

By the way – thank you to everyone on Facebook for the warm welcome!

*Hugs*

Kim.

2 thoughts on “Duck! – Should you buy the new version?

  1. I bought the new edition of Duck! and really enjoyed it – as I did the first edition. I wondered for some time whether to buy the 2nd ed so did a comparison of quite a few pages first. I found that when compared side by side the writing has really tightened up and i think flows much better. I could not believe how much you had re-written, so I now understand why it took so long. I can understand why you wanted to re-edit to bring it into your current way of writing. Really looking forward Albatross. Thank you for writing such delicious books.

    Like

    • Hi Avalie,

      Thank you – I’m really glad you thought the changes improved it.

      I did make lots of alterations – all really little on their own, but I hoped they would add up to a better reading experience, so your comment had me grinning from ear to ear πŸ™‚

      *Hugs*

      Kim

      Like

Leave a Reply

